July 14, 2024

Trinbago Knight Riders | The Most Successful CPL Franchise

Trinbago Knight Riders are the most champion team in the Caribbean Premier League (CPL). The franchise was known as Trinidad and Tobago Red Steel in the opening three CPL seasons. The Kieron Pollard-led side, owned by IPL’s Kolkata Knight Riders from the 2016 season, has added their name to the CPL champions list four times. They are, undoubtedly, the most exciting team in the CPL.  

Trinbago Knight Riders CPL Winning Seasons

The Trinbago Knight Riders’ trophy-winning spree began in the 2015 season. The franchise finished in the top four in the first two CPL seasons but failed to reach the final. However, in 2015, they beat Barbados Tridents in the final to lift their first-ever CPL silverware. From 2016 onwards, the team was under the ownership of IPL outfit Kolkata Knight Riders.

We look in detail at Trinbago Knight Riders’ trophy-winning seasons in CPL:  

 Trinbago Knight Riders 2015 Season

The first time the Trinbago Knight Riders (TKR) won the CPL trophy was in 2015 when it defeated the Barbados Royals by 20 runs. They made it to the semi-finals after finishing third on the table in the season.

Trinbago Knight Riders scored 178 runs in the final and restricted the Barbados Royals to 158. For his brilliant 60, Kamran Akmal was named the Player of the Match in the final. Dwayne Bravo was the Player of the Tournament for his all-round show.

ODI World Cup betting brings rewards to cricket fans worldwide. Find out more about the biggest betting cricket event.

 Trinbago Knight Riders 2017 Season

The Trinbago-based franchise went on to win its second CPL title in 2017, defeating the SKN Patriots by three wickets. They dominated this season, winning eight out of their ten matches in the league stage.

Batting first in the final, St Kitts and Nevis Patriots posted 135 runs. Trinbago Knight Riders chased down the total with six balls to spare. Kevon Cooper was named the Player of the Match for his crucial 29 runs and two wickets.

Trinbago Knight Riders 2018 Season

Trinbago Knight Riders, the defending champions, defended the title successfully in the 108 edition. The Knight Riders won the match by eight wickets against the Guyana Amazon Warriors in the final. The Trinbago outfit finished the group stage at the top of the table, winning seven out of their ten matches.

In the final, Guyana Amazon Warriors scored 147 runs. Trinbago Knight Riders comfortably won the match by eight wickets with 15 balls to spare. Khary Pierre was named the Player of the Match for his crucial three wickets, and the Knight Riders’ top-order batter Colin Munro was the Player of the Tournament.

 Trinbago Knight Riders 2020 Season

Trinbago Knight Riders were at their absolute best in the group stage of the 2020 CPL season, winning all ten matches. In the final, they took on St. Lucia Zouks, who batted first and made 154.

In the run chase, Lendl Simmons hammered the Zouks bowlers on all parts of the ground. He remained unbeaten on 84 as Trinbago Knight Riders breezed to a record fourth title win. Kieron Pollard, who took 4/30 in the final, received the Player of the Series award.  

Chances of the Trinbago Knight Riders in CPL 2023

The TKR team is a champion team and will be hot favorites to win the CPL in 2023. The impact and experienced players are a great strength of the Trinbago Knight Riders team. If the right tactics are in place and every player executes the assigned role perfectly, they will be unstoppable in the upcoming season.

 Trinbago Knight Riders Players to Watch Out for in CPL 2023

1. Kieron Pollard
2. Andre Russell
3. Sunil Narine
4. Nicolas Pooran
5. Rilee Rossouw

Concluding Thoughts

Trinbago Knight Riders will be aiming for a record fifth title. However, they face a stiff challenge at the hands of teams yet to lift the title. With the experience and an excellent squad at their disposal, there is no reason why the Knight Riders will win yet another CPL title.  

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *